The Six Flags theme parks are named after the six actual flags that have flown over Texas. In 1961, the original Six Flags Over Texas opened in Arlington with six distinct areas, each honoring one of the six flags Texas has flown throughout its history: Spain, France Mexico, the Republic of Texas, the Confederacy, and the United States. Source