Have you ever had to ensure that crazy ex doesn’t interrupt your day with a distracting text? There’s no better solution for iPhone users than blocking someone.

But whatever the reason that you need to keep someone from contacting you, you never get to see the other side of the coin. So what happens when you block a contact through Messages, FaceTime and the phone app?

Let’s take a closer look at how to block a contact in each scenario and what exactly happens on the other end.

Blocking Someone on Messages

Photo Credit: Pixabay

This is a nifty tool whenever someone just doesn’t take the hint. To block a number in Messages, simply open the conversation window and tap on the (un)desired contact’s name, photo or image at the top of the screen. After clicking on the “i” info icon, tape the name or number and scroll down to the bottom of the screen for “Block this Caller.”

Any further text messages from a blocked number won’t reach their intended destination. You won’t have a clue about it, though.

In addition, the Messages app has a sweet feature in which you can filter texts from unknown numbers.

Blocking Someone From Calling and FaceTime

Photo Credit: Pixabay

Texting isn’t the only form of communication. So if you need to keep someone from calling or reaching you via FaceTime, the process is simple. Tap the “i” info icon next and click “Block this Caller.”

If a blocked number attempts to call you, it will go straight to voicemail. If that person leaves a message, you will see a “Blocked Messages” folder appear in your voicemail inbox. However, you can rest easy knowing your life won’t be disrupted any longer.

Have you ever been forced to block someone’s number? Did it solve your problem, or did the person manage to still get in contact? Tell us more in the comments below!