fbpx

Advertisement

Vegan’s Spirit Is Crushed When She Learns Mayo Is Made With Eggs

Photo Credit: Pixabay

If you’re trying out a new diet, it can be hard to keep up with all the rules. This is especially true when it comes to condiments, which are sort of like this weird murky amalgamation of who knows what.

Unfortunately, one woman learned the hard way that mayonnaise does not, in fact, align with her vegan lifestyle — not even a little bit.

A sandwich maker had to break the bad news to her that mayo is made with eggs, which are, of course, an animal product.

You can read how it all went down below:

How I accidentally crushed a vegan customer’s soul at Subway

So I work at Subway, yesterday I had a chick come in, she told me she wanted a Veggie Delight.

As I went to get the bread she asked me if I could change my gloves cause she was vegan and I had been handling meat.

I did that, no problem, perfectly reasonable request.

I get her bread, toast it and put all the veggies she wants on it, I start to wrap up her sandwich when she says, “can I get some mayo?”

I look at her, she’s looking at me, I pick up the mayo, I’m waiting for her to be like haha jk.

Nothing.

Me: “You know mayonnaise has eggs in it right?”

THIS. GIRL. JUST. STOOD. THERE. SILENT.

She stood there for a second.

V: “N-no it doesn’t, I get mayo every time, are you sure?”

Me: “Yes ma’am, mayo has egg whites in it.”

I felt so horrible, she stood there with such a distraught and defeated face, I had shattered this poor girl’s world.

I had a couple people waiting so I had to get this lady out of here.

Me: “Would you like the mayo on it ma’am?”

V: “Sure, go ahead.”

She sounded so done, so defeated,

So I gave her her mayo, wrapped her sandwich up and charged her for her sandwich, she was silent the whole time. She took her sandwich and started walking out.

Me: “Thank you for coming, have a nice day!”

She just looked at me, sighed, “yea, I’ll try” and walked out.

And that’s the story of how I taught a vegan that mayonnaise is, in fact, not vegan.

People had a lot of feelings about this story.

And apparently this vegan woman is not alone in her confusion about food sources and ingredients:

Photo Credit: Reddit

One sympathetic commenter pointed out that it’s nearly impossible to be a true vegan, since there are animal additives in random foods you’d never expect:

Photo Credit: Reddit

Others used this story as an opportunity make punny jokes:

Photo Credit: Reddit

Others shared stories of times when people were similarly confused about sandwich ingredients:

Photo Credit: Reddit

Mayo is, apparently, the world’s most confusing condiment!

Photo Credit: Reddit

We really feel for the gal who just learned about yet another delicious food she can’t eat if she wants to remain vegan. Mayo is, above all else, completely delicious and can make just about anything taste better. Especially veggies.

What diets confuse you the most? Have you ever tried to implement any sort of food restrictions on yourself? How did that go?

Let us know in the comments!